• Efikó
  • Posts
  • How to identify topics that drive conversions

How to identify topics that drive conversions

Welcome to today’s issue of Efikó, a weekly newsletter by me, Dozie Anyaegbunam, with a focus on content marketing, writing, social strategy, and living your best life. THANK YOU for being here! I appreciate you.

72 of the Best Quotes for Writers - Writer's Digest

Hello 👋

Today makes it 12 months in Canada for my family and me.

On February 4th, 2021, I didn't know what to expect as I stepped into the bitter cold Toronto air.

May and I had left well-paid jobs in Nigeria.

We had a baby on the way.

But one year later…

Do I regret this move?

Hell NO!

I miss my friends. I miss family. I miss the chaotic energy of Nigerian parties and gatherings.

But leaving Nigeria with my family was the best decision I made in 2021. I love my country dearly.

And if you aren’t sure, think about these three things:

  • Success is more complicated in the wrong environment

  • Money is a reward for value in the right environment

  • Do everything in your power to get out of the wrong environment.

Back to content marketing.

Today, let’s talk about how to identify topics that drive conversions

When I started in content marketing, I assumed a “real win” would be to become known as the killer writer who whips up great articles. Three years later, I realized the best wins are well-crafted briefs and content that generates high-quality leads.

So, your goal as a content marketer is to drive revenue. Any other metric is a lagging indicator of the revenue metric.

But the thing is, these results can take time with content.

So, what to do?

One way to accelerate the process is to identify keywords and topics that talk to your prospect’s pain points.

How?

By asking your customers these four questions through surveys or customer interviews:

  1. What problem were you looking to solve that led you to our product/service? (This question identifies the phrases your prospects use when Googling for the problem your product or service solves.)

  2. How would you describe our product/service to someone who hasn’t heard of it before? (If their description doesn’t match how you write about it — find the keywords and phrases that match their description.)

  3. What are your top three use-cases for our product/service? (This question identifies how your customers use your product/service and the features/benefits they deem essential.)

  4. If our product/service didn’t exist, what product/service would be your alternative? (This is straight-up competitive research.)

Next week, we’ll talk about the types of articles you can create using the data from these interviews and surveys. 

If you read one thing

This article on “The Gift of One Moment” by Emmanuel Alonge is a refreshing read.

Quick survey

I plan to start a second newsletter called the Content Marketing Weekly Roundup.

It’ll be a roundup of articles and videos on content marketing.

Does this sound interesting enough?

Would you unsubscribe from Efikò if you got an email from me twice a week?

OR should it come to your inbox twice a month?

Would you prefer Sunday or Monday?

Please hit the reply button or leave comments below 🙏🏿

Not Enough Writers

NEWville now has a Medium page.

Right now, we’re publishing the best articles from our “30 Days of Writing” challenge.

After that, members can submit articles for publishing. We still need to work on the vetting process.

Please give us a follow.

Know someone who should be a member of the community? Please get them to sign up here!

Content writing jobs

Content Strategist, Literal Humans (ask me for a referral if you’re interested)

All the best, folks. Could you please share with any of your friends/colleagues who might find this helpful?

My biggest takeaway this week 🚀

"Have no single point of failure.

Have no single path to success."

— James Clear

What I’m thinking about

Don’t be fooled by your achievements.

If you would love me to review your writing and give you feedback, you can book a time here. Or just hit the reply button.

Thanks for reading this far. I am grateful!

Be good out there. If you can’t be good, be careful.

I’ll be back on 2/11.

Dozie

P.S: If you enjoyed this, please consider sharing it on LinkedIn or with a friend! If this was sent to you by a friend, get the following email by signing up here.