• Efikó
  • Posts
  • 3-2-1 Fridays: Using SEO tools, a headline writing refresher, and an unconventional method to finding trending topics

3-2-1 Fridays: Using SEO tools, a headline writing refresher, and an unconventional method to finding trending topics

Welcome to today’s issue of Efikó, a weekly newsletter by me, Dozie Anyaegbunam, focusing on all things content marketing and living your best life. THANK YOU for being here! I appreciate you!

Hey superstars,

I need another Mexico-like workation.

Good food. Good people. Blue skies.

Plus tequila and tacos.

But one can only dream for now.

How’s your week going?

3 Things I Learned This Week

i.

Tools are tools - machines guessing and hoping they understand the mess that’s Google’s algorthim’s brain.

Plus, I also think that Google’s algorithm is way more advanced than we know or they let out. So, tools are only directional triggers, nothing more. They can’t replace an obsessive need to understand customers and what triggers them.

The real work is understanding your audience and telling stories that nudge them to act.

ii.

A refresher on writing great headlines:

  • Be specific

  • Make sure it’s easy to understand

  • Resist the temptation to be clever. You aren’t Trevor Noah

  • Capture the essence of the article

  • Try to elicit a reaction from the reader. Curiosity works best most of the time.

iii.

One of the best sources of content inspo (especially for buzz-worthy content) is major magazine publications focused on your industry.

Say you lead content for a fashion brand. It might be wise to check out what GQ is publishing about summer fashion.

You can use an advanced search operator — site:GQ.com summer fashion — to find relevant content.

The traffic stats tell me that folks are reading a ton about summer trends and tips. The next steps would be to create a piece that fits our perspective as a brand and get that out to our audience.

2 Things I am Thinking About

i.

We can’t force habits to change, wounds or trauma to heal, or the mind to be quiet. All we can do is set the stage and wait.

ii.

Being your authentic self doesn’t mean a lack of restraint or compassion.

1 Book Recommendation

Today, I have a question. Send in the best content marketing or writing books you have read in the past 12 months.

Content Writing Jobs - August

All the best, folks.

P.S: I’m just the messenger. I know nothing more than what I include here.

Thanks for reading this far. I am grateful!

Be good out there. If you can't be good, be careful

I’ll be back on 8/19.

Dozie