• Efikó
  • Posts
  • 3-2-1 Fridays: How to create better content, plus a renewed focus on mobile-friendly content experiences

3-2-1 Fridays: How to create better content, plus a renewed focus on mobile-friendly content experiences

Welcome to today’s issue of Efikó, a weekly newsletter by me, Dozie Anyaegbunam, focusing on content marketing, writing, social strategy, and living your best life. THANK YOU for being here! I appreciate you!

Hey rockstars,

It’s been a productive week. Working on some exciting projects - I can’t wait to share them with you all.

Plus, the wife got a job.

Woohooo. So proud of her. She signed her first offer as a PM two weeks after her maternity leave/work ended (I don’t think that period is a break in any way).

Let’s get straight into it.

3 Things I learned This Week

i.

The content marketing role has grown in value in recent times. But creating content that captures the attention of your prospects or audience has gotten harder.

I guess that’s what happens when an industry becomes saturated.

Here are three questions I ask when looking to create content that speaks to my audience in a way that resonates:

  • Is my product or client’s use case represented in the SERPs?

  • Is something missing in the content ranking for that keyword (new data, new format, expert opinion)?

  • Do the current views that dominate the SERPS consider my product or the client’s POV?

It’s not enough to look for search intent. Go a step deeper.

ii.

Let’s spend a couple more minutes on creating better content. So, you’ve applied those three filters to the SERPs. How do you now filter further?

These questions from Shayla Price on Tommy Walker’s Cutting Room podcast are gold for ensuring you create reader-centric pieces of content:

  • What inspired this content?

  • What solution will the customer receive?

  • What other content will complement this content?

  • Where will the customer interact with this content?

  • What is the customer's next step after engaging with this content?

iii.

I have been deep in the weeds learning how to run a tech SEO audit these past two weeks. And here’s my biggest takeaway (not surprising, though):

Google seems to consider your mobile website a priority these days. So, if you’re ever working with a client on anything content, make mobile-friendliness a priority.

2 Things I am Thinking About

i.

I think the secret to happiness is finding something more important than you are and dedicating your life to it.

ii.

Set boundaries. It’s the difference between burnout and productivity.

1 Book Recommendation

The Design of Everyday Things isn’t a writing or content creation book. But I believe that approaching content marketing with the customer in mind needs a good understanding of human-centered design principles.

Content Writing Jobs - June

All the best, folks. Could you please share with any of your friends/colleagues who might find this helpful?

If you would love me to review your writing and give you feedback, you can book a time here. Or just hit the reply button.

Thanks for reading this far. I am grateful!

Be good out there. If you can't be good, be careful

I’ll be back on 7/01.

Dozie

P.S: If you enjoyed this, please consider sharing it on LinkedIn or with a friend! I would be grateful. If this was sent to you by a friend, get the following email by signing up here.