• Efikó
  • Posts
  • 3-2-1 Friday: Sizing your market, interlinking, and showing your value as a content marketer

3-2-1 Friday: Sizing your market, interlinking, and showing your value as a content marketer

Welcome to today’s issue of Efikó, a weekly newsletter by me, Dozie Anyaegbunam, with a focus on content marketing, writing, social strategy, and living your best life. THANK YOU for being here! I appreciate you!

Hi Content Superstars,

How’s the week been?

For me, it’s been topsy turvy. My cold turned into an allergy, it seems. And so I am stuck downing warm liquids and carrying lozenges around.

I also had my eye dilated yesterday. The optometrist thought she saw something strange during my annual eye exam. Thankfully, nothing to worry about.

But it wasn’t all bad.

I did some great work.

And I am starting a podcast on immigrating.

It’s called “The Newcomers.” Any thoughts?

Hold on. Get through the newsletter before you hit the reply button.

3 Things I learned This Week

i.

Market sizing can be a thorn for content marketers. How do you defend your keyword choices with your boss? Is the market or search volume for that keyword growing or shrinking?

To answer this question, head over to your keyword tool. I use Ahrefs for this:

  • Look up the primary keyword

  • Click the three dots on the top left corner of the Volume section and export it as a CSV

  • You’ll get a 5-year picture of the search volume of the keyword

This should help you decide if it’s worth building a strategy/cluster around the keyword or not.

ii.

Backlinks are great. But what if you don’t have the budget or bylines?

Focus on interlinking. But don’t interlink for the sake of interlinking. I know an article I shared last weekend says ‘include over 20+ interlinks in your content.’

It might pay to be a bit more deliberate. By:

  • Finding pages on your website that are high value (product pages or high organic traffic). Remember, an interlink tells Google that the page is essential. So choose carefully.

  • Then optimize these chosen pages for the SERPs. This could mean adding videos, more images, schema markups, and other updates that improve the reader experience.

  • Finally, delete any weak content. Content with a low word count doesn’t help your case. Get them off your site.

iii.

Content marketing must influence the business numbers. You can get away with vanity metrics for a while. But if you want to grow in your career, you need always to be thinking of how your content strategy affects the business goals.

That means any tactics you present to your leadership must ladder up.

Here’s an example:

Business goal: Generate demo requests

Metrics: X demo requests from content/organic search

Tactics: Write one case study a quarter; add CTA to case study to blog content; add CTA to demo requests on case studies.

2 Things I am Thinking About

i.

Start small, but don’t dream small. Build momentum. And when you look back someday, you’ll be surprised how far you’ve come.

ii.

Imitation is the bedrock of mastery.

1 Book Recommendation

Today, I’ve got a video—the first lecture in David Perell’s series on Rene Girard | Introduction to Mimetic Theory.

Content Writing Jobs - June

All the best, folks. Could you please share with any of your friends/colleagues who might find this helpful?

If you would love me to review your writing and give you feedback, you can book a time here. Or just hit the reply button.

Thanks for reading this far. I am grateful!

Be good out there. If you can't be good, be careful

I’ll be back on 6/10.

Dozie

P.S: If you enjoyed this, please consider sharing it on LinkedIn or with a friend! If this was sent to you by a friend, get the following email by signing up here.